Arts and Entertainment

The World Chess Championship’s History

One of the world’s oldest and most widely played sports is chess, and the World Chess Championship is one of its most prestigious events. There have been a total of nine final games played during the course of the competition, which has been held yearly since 1886. This article explores the history of the World Chess Championship, beginning with its establishment and continuing up to the present day.

The Beginning Years of Chess

In the early days of chess, the stronger player typically prevailed and won the majority of games. Due to the fact that they could move more quickly than the other pieces, kings and bishops were extremely important components on the board. As the game proceeded, there was an increase in the prevalence of pieces with less power, as well as the development of more offensive strategies. By the 15th century, chess had already established itself as a well-liked spectator sport. In 1492, King Henry VII of England and Pedro Flores, a Spanish nobleman, competed in the first-ever world championship match. Henry VII of England won the match.

The game of chess evolved over time to become what it is today. There are now chess clubs in virtually every country on the planet, and contests have become an essential part of the chess community on a global scale. Each year, the World Chess Championship attracts the attention of millions of viewers throughout the world, making it one of the most well-known sporting events on the planet.

Chess in the Years to Come

The World Chess Championship is regarded as one of the most prestigious and oldest chess events in the world. The tournament has been held every year since 1886, with the exception of years when the United States was at war. The 2018 World Chess Championship will take place in Mexico City from November 9th to December 2nd of that same year.

The current champions are as follows: Vasily Ivanchuk (Ukraine, 2008), Magnus Carlsen (Norway, 2013), Vladimir Kramnik (Russia, 2004), Vladimir Kramnik (Russia, 2004) Blitz winner Hikaru Nakamura (United States of America, 2016), Levon Aronian (Armenia, 2014), Fabiano Caruana (United States of America, 2016), Sergey Karjakin (Russia, 2014), and Viswana (India, 2007).

The Formative Years of the World Chess Championship

The world chess championship can be traced all the way back to the Middle Ages. Its past is long and complicated. The first chess championship was held in the Middle Ages, but the world championship didn’t start to look like it does now until the late 1800s.

There is a lot of information about the early history of the world chess championship that can be found. For example, in 1689, Louis XIV of France staged the first royal chess tournament. This event took place in France.

Over the years, the world championship has not only grown in a number of participants but also in significance. It is now one of the most well-known sports events that take place all over the world and draw some of the best athletes from all around the world. This results in high-caliber athletes competing against one another for victory in what is perhaps one of the most challenging competitions in the sporting world.


One of the most prestigious competitions in the game of chess is the World Chess Championship. Since its inception in 1886, both men’s and women’s champions have competed for the title, and the tournament has featured an impressive roster of competitors over the years.

The competition takes place once every two years, and there are eight participants who come from different parts of the world to compete against one another for the title of world champion.

BCN Development’s Craig Nassi: The Voice of the Founder

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button